In order to pursue advanced Emergency Services qualifications, like Ground Team Member, Ground Team Leader, etc., CAP members are required to be National Incident Management System (NIMS) compliant. This is the same training that all other response agencies receive so that we may all integrate seamlessly to prevent, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of incidents, regardless of cause, size, location, or complexity, in order to reduce the loss of life and property and harm to the environment.

The following is a series of links to the different courses from the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Emergency Management Institute broken down to what must be completed for each qualification. Each of the online courses take approximately three hours and must be completed in one sitting. ICS-300 and ICS-400 are multiple day classroom based courses with FEMA approved instructors. After you complete the course, save the certificate, and e-mail a copy to and it will be entered into your records.

General Emergency Services

None Required

Ground Team Member (any level), ADIS Operator, Airborne Photographer, ARCHER Field Spectrometer Operator, ARCHER Ground Station Operator, ARCHER Operator, ARCHER Trac Technician, Community Emergency Response Team, Critical Incident Stress Management Team (any level), Flight Line Marshaller, Highbird Radio Operator, Mission Observer, Mission Radio Operator, Mission Scanner, Mission Staff Assistant, Transport Mission Pilot, Urban Direction Finding Team, and Water Survival

Complete Courses IS-100 IS-700

Ground Team Leader, Cost Unit Leader, Flight Line Supervisor, Mission Chaplain, Mountain Flying Certification, Resources Unit Leader, SAR/DR Mission Pilot, Situation Unit Leader

Complete Courses IS-100 IS-200 IS-700

Air Operations Branch Director, Communications Unit Leader, Finance/Administration Section Chief, Ground Branch Director, Logistics Section Chief, Operations Section Chief, Planning Section Chief, Public Information Officer

Complete Courses IS-100 IS-200 ICS-300 IS-700 IS-800

Incident Commander (all levels), Liason Officer, Mission Safety Officer

Complete Courses IS-100 IS-200 ICS-300 ICS-400 IS-700 IS-800

Remember, completion of these courses is only one step toward your advanced qualifications. You must additionally complete all of the individual tasks on your appropriate Specialty Qualification Training Record.